Alaska Statehood


72-2796-2 (NPS)

July 7, 1958
DDE with Mike Sepovich, Territorial Governor of Alaska, and Secretary of the Interior Fred A. Seaton during the signing of the Alaska Statehood Bill.


72-2933-1 (NPS)

January 3, 1959
President Eisenhower signs the Alaska Proclamation admitting Alaska as the 49th state. Front Row L to R: Vice President Richard Nixon; DDE; House Speaker Sam Rayburn. Back Row L to R: Rep.-Elect Ralph Rivers; Sen.-Elect Ernest Gruening; Sen.- Elect E.L. Bartlett; Secretary of the Interior Fred A. Seaton; Wayne Hendrickson; and David W. Kendall, Special Counsel to the President.


72-2933-2 (NPS)

January 3, 1959
Unfurling of the new 49-star flag.